Noncitizens allowed to vote in some local elections, spurring backlash from GOP

By: - March 15, 2023 3:00 am

An effort to allow noncitizens to vote in some municipal elections has led to push back in many states. Since 2020, five states — Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Ohio, and, in December, Louisiana — have amended their constitutions to say only citizens can vote in elections at any level. Arizona, Minnesota, and North Dakota have similar language. (Photo by Jerod MacDonald-Evoy/Arizona Mirror)

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.